Finding Buddha

DSCF5068I’ve been in Vietnam for just over two months now…I’m still enjoying the food, the people, and the heat (which has pretty much held to the mid 30s since I’ve been here). I am really  tired of the traffic but, since it’s not going anywhere any time soon,  I’ll just continue to cross my fingers and cross the street.

You can’t imagine how wonderful it is to get out of the city and hike in the mountains every Saturday. On our last two hikes we happened upon Buddhist temples…Or is it pagodas? There is a distinction…I’ll have to do some research. “Happen upon” may not be the correct term for the Maitreya Buddha  we visited yesterday as it sits on top Phat Tich Mountain,  is 27m tall, and weighs 3,000 tons. It is one of the largest stone statues in Southeast Asia. Seen at a distance, it’s pretty impressive…Up close, after a 5K hike up the mountain, it’s spectacular. 

Wikipedia has a page that lists 50 Buddhist temples in the city of Hanoi. Many of these are ancient treasures that the city has built up around and obscured. Looking at the locations, I see that over a dozen of them are within walking distance of my apartment. Probably worth braving the traffic to visit a few of them…Buddha help me!

DSCF5079 DSCF5089 DSCF5078 DSCF5065 28-6-phat-tich-3 018a 010 009

Leave a Reply

