A walk in the woods…

DSCF5053

 

 

I attended my first Hash yesterday… The Hash House Harriers is an established running/social club found in most countries in the world. The objectives of the club, as recorded on the club registration card dated 1950, are:

  • To promote physical fitness among our members
  • To get rid of weekend hangovers
  • To acquire a good thirst and to satisfy it in beer
  • To persuade the older members that they are not as old as they feel

Wow…true to their objectives for over half a century!

Yesterday we traveled an hour and a half outside the city for a 10K run / 6K walk in the countryside. I was in the walking group, but I have my sights set on joining those runners before the year’s out. It was about 35 degrees and sauna-like conditions.  I really enjoyed the day. But the rituals…code names…symbols?…I’ve never belonged to an exclusive society before…Unless you count being a Caper…(Come to think of it, we have weird nicknames and rituals and beer is involved..So, yeah, I guess that counts…)

I checked out the Nova Scotia based Halifax Harbour Hash House Harriers on Facebook…They describe their club as “A drinking club with a running problem.”

DSCF5039 DSCF5034 DSCF5025DSCF5024DSCF5042DSCF5052

2 thoughts on “A walk in the woods…

Leave a Reply

